Now to a pickle of a different kind, the one pickled in vinegar brine. Not that this is a neat segue from my previous post. It just so happened in real life I pickled the two back to back.                                                                           

                                                                                              

I planted “Armenian Cucumber” this year which I bought on a whim, thinking I’d plant an unusual variety since I’m all cool like that. What it grew into were these monstrous cukes. After getting over the shock I had to find ways to use up these cucumbers that were popping up quicker than I could keep up with. I could give them away to neighbors but I didn’t want to freak them out and hide their children from the crazy vegetable lady! So I decided to pickle them and give it away.                                                                      

What started out innocuously like this                                                                                  

                                                                                                                                                                                           ended up like this, 8 lbs [about 3.5 kgs] later.

                                                                                                  

                                            

                                                                                                                                                            I also added thinly sliced green cherry tomatoes to the cucumbers, just to pretty it up, yes I’m vain like that. I was on my way to clip the standard garden variety herbs like thyme and oregano to throw in with the cukes, when I almost fell on my Thai basil and Kaffir lime plants. Yes, I group my plant according to cuisine. Just kidding. Thai accented cucumber pickles? It was definitely worth a try. For some heat, I crushed a few tiny red hot peppers and I couldn’t be more pleased with the results.                                                        

                                                                                                                                      

 Cucumber and Green Tomato Pickle With Thai Herbs

1/4 cup vinegar

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

2 kaffir lime leaves

3 Thai basil leaves

A few chilies, per your taste

About  1 1/2 cups of sliced cucumbers

A few cherry tomatoes sliced thin, for vanity’s sake.

In a small saucepan add the vinegar, water, sugar and salt and let it come to a boil. Then turn the heat off. Tear the Kaffir leaves to release their aroma, chiffonade the basil leaves and add to the vinegar brine. Crush the peppers and add it as well. Once the vinegar solution cools to room temperature add the cukes and tomatoes and mix well. Then bottle it and store in the fridge. Just make sure that there is a sufficient head of brine over the pickles. It has stored well in my fridge for at least two weeks now. The pickles are tangy and sweet with an unmistakable floral aroma from the herbs and so delicious.

Thanks for dropping by,

Best, S. 

Update on Oct, 17, 2012. My pickled cucumbers are still in good condition more than a year later. I had pickled several jar and this remaining one was lost in the recesses of the refrigerator, hence unopened and undisturbed and still tasting great.

