This post is not about pies. It is not even about green tomatoes. It is not even about a recipe for Green Tomato Pie.                                                                                                                                                                  It is about finding simple and creative solutions to a situation at hand. It is about being in the moment and going with the flow. This creative process of preparing food without a recipe or the dogma for perfection is what sustains me daily.                                                                                                                                          

In my part of the world, the autumnal hues are quickly replacing the summer shades and my tomato plants are somewhat caught in the middle, a little bit perplexed. They have an abundance of green fruits but no time to ripen.

           

                                                                                                                         

What do I do with this abundance? I can’t give them away as I sometimes do, surely the recipient will politely smile and put it away, meaning to do something with it, only it will end up in trash after a long respite in the fridge.         

I could put them in Dals. Check. I could pickle them. Been there done that, in fact two kinds of pickles.                                                             

                                                                                                                                                          Well the planets were aligned. I pulled out left over frozen pizza dough and the lonely red pepper rolling all by its sorry self in the vegetable drawer. While the dough was thawing I roasted the red pepper and pureed it with some herbs and spices. Cut up the green gems into halves. And they all came together in the form of these mini pies. Mamma was happy, so was her brood.

Thanks for dropping by,

Best, S.